Business Office

Sheffield-Thompson building on the Rome camus

 

We are committed to providing the most professional, responsive and efficient customer service to the students of Shorter University. The Business Office is responsible for the collection, control and custodianship of all University funds, securities, and related records. Our goal is to safeguard University assets and follow departmental, University, State and Federal policies and procedures while providing prompt, courteous service to our customers.


Business Office Location 

315 Shorter Avenue
Rome, GA 30165

Phone: 706-291-2121
Fax: 706-233-7322

Hours of Operation (Monday – Friday)

Phones: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm ET
Windows: 8:30 am to 4:30 pm ET

FINANCE

The CFO/Vice President of Finance is directly responsible to the President of the university. The responsibilities include leadership of the primary financial, budgetary and communication functions of the university with specific responsibilities for the development of policies and procedures in Accounting Services, Human Resources, Financial Aid, the Box Office, Auxillary Services, Post Office/Copy Room and Communications.

The duties of this position also include, but are not limited to:

  • Development and monitoring of the university budget
  • Coordination and guidance of the budget process
  • Coordination of monthly closing operation
  • Production of all management operating statements
  • Production of annual reports
  • Management of cash flow, investments and endowments
  • Operational decisions including capital purchases, leases, contract negotiations and insurance
  • Special assignments made by the President

 

Susan ZeirdSusan Zeird, CFO & Vice President of Finance

Please address all requests for reports and analyses to the CFO & Vice President of Finance at 706-233-7244 or szeird@shorter.edu.

 

 

ACCOUNTING SERVICES – CAPP Students

706-233-7982 – Bill Mewbourne – Student Accounts Coordinator, Riverdale and Cobb
706-233-7983 – Brenda Long – Student Accounts Coordinator, Rome and Gwinnett

706-233-7984 – Fax

 

Student Accounting

Vickie GandyVickie Gandy
Student Accounts Coordinator – Traditional Students
706-233-7313
vgandy@shorter.edu

 

 

Brenda LongBrenda Long
Student Account Coordinator
706-233-7983
blong@shorter.edu

 

 

Bill MewbourneBill Mewbourne
CAPP Student Accounts Coordinator – Riverdale and Cobb
706-234-9053
bmewbourne@shorter.edu

 

 

Justin ParsonsJustin Parsons
Student Account Coordinator – Online
706-233-7211
jparsons@shorter.edu

 

 

Samantha TewSamantha Tew
Treasury Manager
706-233-7981
stew@shorter.edu

 

 

Rebekah WoodRebekah Wood
Manager of Student Accounts
706-233-7405
rwood@shorter.edu

 

Financial Accounting

Robin CavinRobin Cavin
Executive Assistant to the CFO
706-233-7244
rcavin@shorter.edu

 

 

Vicky DrnekVicky Drnek
Accounts Payable Coordinator
706-233-7212
vdrnek@shorter.edu

 

 
Scott HowardScott Howard
General Accounting Manager
706-233-7897
showard@shorter.edu

 

 

Photo Not AvailableSarah Lively
Staff Acccountant
706-233-7467
slively@shorter.edu

 

 

Susan ZeirdSusan Zeird
CFO & Vice President of Finance

The Director of Accounting Services/Controller is responsible for maintaining all accounting procedures and processes, the coordination of the annual audit, student billing, cash reconciliation and the coordination and reconciliation of funds for Financial Aid.

For questions concerning the business office, Ms. Zeird can be reached at szeird@shorter.edu or 706-233-7244.

 

Communications

Vicky GloverVicki Glover
Switchboard Coordinator

The Switchboard, which is located in Sheffield-Thompson, Main Floor, processes all general incoming calls for the university. This is the central point of communication for information on theatre and athletic events, camps, and university announcements.

Checks up to $50.00 per week may be cashed at the Business Office. Return check fees are $25.00 per check.